top of page

Me time, without the guilt.


Becoming a mum has filled me with lots of happiness, however for me it has come with a sacrifice. When Lily was born in the spring of 2014, I wanted to go a bit brighter again for the summer with my blonde so I booked an appointment at my local salon and bundled my newborn off with me. In my head, she would sleep during my appointment as she had just been fed and I would be able to have a bit of me time. I was foolishly mistaken. What actually happened was me breastfeeding an unsettled baby every 40 minutes whilst sitting on the staff toilet. From then I vowed I would never take me child with me again.

So for the last 4 years, I’ve managed to squeeze in 2 hair appointments a year using annual leave or family to have the girls. A summer and a winter cut and colour, which leaves my blonde locks looking great for a few months until the roots grow in, and then I begin to look like one of Vicky Pollards friends.

So when I was invited along to the opening of Honey and Violet's launch of Monday Mums club, how could I say no!! The opportunity to have a bit of TLC for my poor hair that hadn’t been in a salon since DECEMBER (I missed my summer cut). Also, they encourage you to bring the little ones, with lots of hands on deck to help out when we needed. The beauty of today was that all the customers there were mums. We don’t mind noisy children or them running about, in fact its almost weird when we don't have a constant background noise. The stylists are happy to pause so you can give your little one the attention the are so desperate for, and there is no judgement for doing so.

​Today there was also that instinctive parenting where you just help another mum out. Whilst one mum was getting that blissful head massage, the moment where you really don’t want to be disturbed and you feel like christmas has come early, the other clients and staff were there to make sure mischief was managed!

Monday’s for mums. A place where you can have a bit of me time without the mum guilt. A place where you know your wee one is safe, and you can just relax.

I want to shout out to my stylist Laura (@hair_bylauz), who has transferred my neglected locks and got me feeling all sorts of fabulous. And also to poor Robyn, who was bossed about by Lily (her new best friend I’m sure) for the entire time we were there!

Thank you to the whole team for letting me feel a bit like me again, whilst allowing my girls to just be who they are, young children who sometimes shout and run wild.

Please go and check them out, and remember, on Mondays...it’s 10% off all hair and beauty treatments for us mums.

Suzy xx

bottom of page