top of page

A day for...me!

Last week I had the ultimate luxury. A day to myself. ALL DAY. The kids went to nursery at 7.30 and then I

collected them at 5.30….that was a whole 10 hours of uninterrupted adult time. Just bliss. Out of those

10 hours, I spent nearly 5 of them in being pampered at a local salon to me, one I hadn’t been to before

but had been meaning to try as they have a great reputation Lime Salon in Inverkiething.

I was contacted by the salon to work with them in showing a “Lime Hair Colour Journey” Fortransparency, I was not charged for the services or the after care products supplied, but was asked to

give an honest review of my experience of the salon as a whole.

On arrival I was offered a hot beverage, they have new

swanky Rijo 42 coffee machines, as well as

offering a variety of soft and alcohol drink should you prefer. Had I not had this bump I would definitely

have enjoyed a class of fizz! And lets not forget the addition of a freddo on my coffee saucer!

The downstairs of the salon is the waiting area as well as the beauty zone. The walls are covered in

beautifully coloured products that are used throughout the salon, which gave the place a really fresh

look. The whole place is a mix of modern vs chic with clean colours and exposed brick.

Before this appointment, I had met with Jemma, one of the salons Advanced Colourist to discuss hair colour

goals. I was brutally honest and said I wanted brighter hair but low maintenance. I am no longer the girl

that goes to get her highlights done every 8 weeks. In fact, I usually get it coloured maybe once a year,

along with a summer and winter cut!

ANYWAY. We discussed putting a highlight and lowlight through the lengths to break it up, and then do

a root drag technique to soften the root and eliminate the painful “grow out” phase. Also, for the first

time in a while realised that ash blonde wasn’t for me and I decided to embrace the warmth in my natural colour (thanks to my ginger dad) and get a golden blonde toner put on the ends…..so that’s what we did! And I love it! All of the colour stages used a bonding treatment from MATRIX to help keep the

colour on my hair…and this stuff smells amazing! I’ve got quite a bit of hair, (well just thick hair now) so the

foiling process can take a while, but I really enjoyed chatting with Jemma. We chatted about everything

from rude people to school bullying to holiday plans and the time flew in. So much nicer when you just click with your stylist.

Now let’s talk about one of my favourite things about going to the hairdresser…getting your hair

washed! Now this was a bloody AMAZING experience and I got to do it twice due to the application of the toners.

The chairs had…wait for it…leg rests AND built in back massagers! After the application of a Matrix hair

mask I was given the option of staying where I was in the chair of dreams or return to the cutting

station…where do you think I sat for those blissfully 15 minutes?

Now lets talk about the cut. Jasmine was the creative behind my new do. I said I wanted to go shorter,

with a bit of a Holly Willoughby vibe. My only stipulation was that it had to be able to tie up

still…because, well life! And she did just that!

The final result, no dark patch, beautifully blended colour that will grow with my hair. The cut is ideal

because it suits my natural wave, straightened or styled curl which I love! AND it goes in a pony tail. I

cannot fault the girls who were all involved..Jemma Kaitie and Jasmine were all amazing.

On my way out, Jemma handed me some colour protection shampoo and conditioner, a bottle of the

biloage bonde hair mask and some heat protetor. Im really keen to see how ling my toner last using the

correct products at home and properly looking after my hair. I'm guilty of paying more attention to my

skincare regime and neglecting my hair but this opportunity has allowed me to focus on both. Its important to note that that salon finish that you see in the glossy magazines are taken under perfect lighting and done minutes after it has been styled. Toners don't last, however with the right after care they can last a little longer...so let's see how I get on!

So check back in with me in April, when I will be going back to get my toner refreshed and hair trimmed

if needed. This time I’m going for some more fun colours…but what do you think I should go for?

Big love

Suzy

xx

bottom of page